“Strong Opinions Aren’t Free”

One of the best business books I’ve read in the last few years is Rework, by Jason Fried. It’s refreshingly honest, straight forward and pulls no punches.

I am not exaggerating when I say that the following snippet from the book is one of the biggest influences on my blogging style:

Strong opinions aren’t free. You’ll turn some people off. They’ll accuse you of being arrogant and aloof. That’s life. For everyone that loves you, there will be others who hate you. If no one’s upset by what you’re saying, you’re probably not pushing hard enough. (And you’re probably boring, too.)

Highly recommended. In fact, you can finish the entire book in less than 2 hours.

About Mustapha Hamoui

I'm a Lebanese designer, businessman, geek, and blogger at beirutspring.com ..

5 comments

  1. I have noticed that the same applies for any form of expression; being opinionated drives discussions and creates word-of-mouth.

  2. Marie

    I’ve been meaning to read a Business book for a while, didn’t know what to pick and was mostly afraid from getting bored with all the business talks.. but I like this quote very much. I’m the type of person who does not really like making others upset.

  3. The quote reminds me of something like “If you got yourself some haters, means you’re doing something right”

  4. Pingback: One of the best business books I’ve read in the last few years is Rework, by Jason Fried. It’s refreshingly honest, straight forward and pulls no punches. I am not exaggerating when I say that the following snippet from the book is one of the bigg

  5. Pingback: Strong opinions aren’t free. You’ll turn some people off. They’ll accuse you of being arrogant and aloof. That’s life. For everyone that loves you, there will be others who hate you. If no one’s upset by what you’re saying, you’re probably n

Leave a Reply

