Life as a Leb-neh lover

I’ve been away from Lebanon for 8 years now. That’s a long time. That’s almost a third of my life. It’s strange because the longer I stay away, the more I miss it, and the more I go back, the more I feel like a misfit.

The book

This is an excerpt from the book “Life as a Leb-neh lover” by Kathy Shalhoub. Kathy turned her blog into a book. I still haven’t finished the book, but I can tell you that it’s a very nice read so far, it’s easy, and “arib lal alb”, and it has many stories which the reader can identify with.

life as a lebneh lover

In this book, Kathy talks about various stories, these stories are based on blog posts. The end result is usually you not getting bored, because there is always something new. Something else I like about her, is how down to earth and honest she is, and you can notice this from paragraph 1.

The Daily Thought

Kathy talks about her Lebanese identity, and is worried whether her kids are going to lose it, if she raises them abroad. What will her kids be? she asks.

I guess this is a question that is on the mind of most expatriates all the time. And definitely on the minds of the Lebanese who wouldn’t leave Lebanon.

As a resident Lebanese all my life, I feel like a misfit on many occasions as well. But we learn to adapt, to accept certain things the way they are, and work on improving the things that have room for improvement.

Now I ask you

How do you feel as an expat?

p.s. And thanks to Turning Point Books for suggesting this book for us to read, and sending it to us as well.

About FunkyOzzi

Why so Serious? A software developer / SEO / SEM womosapien. I worry if I travel back in time, what will I work then.

15 comments

  1. Mustapha

    Very nice.. I know exactly what she’s talking about. I can’t believe I am not familiar with her blog, thanks for introducing her to us!

  2. Yup, you miss it… and the more you stay away, the more you miss it! And with all that’s maybe wrong, Lebanon still beats a looooooot of places I have lived in. Hope to be back soon🙂

  3. well i am reading this book right now, almost at the middle, I can say it is so simple one🙂

  4. Mustapha, same here, I only learned about her blog from the book🙂

    Mayyasi, very easy. smooth read

    Mich, nshalla soon you will be back

  5. Tarek Daouk

    true..the more I’m away from Lebanon, the more I miss it. the more I stay in Lebanon, the more I miss getting out !🙂 a crazy beautfiful country

    does the book sell in Dubai?

  6. Kathy Shalhoub

    Hi guys,

    Just got a pingback on my website to here.

    Thanks so much for reading my book🙂 I’m flattered!

    And yes it does sell in Dubai in Virgin stores and we’re working on Magrudy’s and Kinokunya. We plan to take over the WORLD!!!!
    just kidding…

  7. Hi Kathy, thanks for your comment! If you drop by Lebanon any time soon, let us know, maybe you can tell us live about your adventures🙂

    Best,
    Liliane

    • Kathy Shalhoub

      Hi Liliane,

      Would love to! Actually would also love to hear what you guys do, think, read, etc…
      I’m in Lebanon from the 16 the 26th of this month, want to set something up?

  8. Hi Kathy! for sure, that would be great🙂 I will contact you by email and see with the guys when is the best time for all of us! Looking forward

  9. Abaretruth

    I am looking forward to reading it. I love the feedback, it’s one of my fav review on TheCube

  10. Eleena

    You’re welcome! Looking forward to sending you more new titles. Btw, we’ll be holding a book signing this Wednesday from 5-8pm at Antoine, ABC Ashrafieh. Pop by for some labneh canapes!

  11. Thanks again Eleena, for sure🙂 You had me at Labneh hehe

  12. Looking forward to grabbing this title from Maggie😉

  13. Pingback: Kathy Shalhoub’s Life As a Leb-Neh Lover « The Cube

Leave a Reply

