A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

I bought this book almost a year ago and I’ve been postponing reading it. When I finally picked it up, it has been months since I read a book fully and looking at the 450 pages, I thought that it would take me weeks to get through it. I finished it over 3 days. I reluctantly put it down when I had to.

A Thousand Splendid Suns tale takes place in Afghanistan, mainly in Kabul, from the 1960s to 2003, during the Soviet invasion to the reign of the Taliban to post-Taliban rebuilding. It is the story of two women brought together by the tragic events of war. It is a story about the struggle to survive, raise a family and find happiness during times of violence, cruel killing and extremism. It is a very sad story, I was shocked by the brutality described in some scenes but the message of the book was not of brutality or depression, but of hope and the toughness of the human spirit, especially of women when it comes to their children.

You grow so attached to these two women that you find yourself shedding tears when life hits them with its injustice and violence. Khaled Hosseini is a great story-teller and this is, without any doubt, a very powerful book. It is an ode for the women of Afghanistan. Reading what they have to endure and in what conditions they live, I felt blessed and grateful for what I have. Moreover I felt curious to know more about Afghanistan, for what we already know is largely given to us by media with no human touch.

I will not reveal anything about the storyline of the book because the book will lose of its striking effect if it becomes predictable. If the few first chapters seemed weird and not interesting enough, give it a chance. It totally deserve it!

4 comments

  1. Manuel

    A great review for a great book!🙂

  2. This is definitely on my to-read list! Thanks Marie

  3. Pingback: If You Could See Me Now by Cecelia Ahern « The Cube

  4. Its a great book.. I loved both the books from this author.
    Great review🙂

Leave a Reply

